What happens if my data runs out?

Quick answer

If you run out of the included data in your amaysim mobile or data-only plan, we'll pause your data access and wait for your next steps.

If you want to continue using data, you can choose to add a data top-up ($10/1GB). If you're using an UNLIMITED mobile plan, you can also choose to renew your plan early (this will re-start your data allowance).

Alternatively, you can simply wait until your plan has renewed for a new 28 day period in order to access data again.

Note: If you're a Postpaid customer and run out of data, we'll automatically add a $10/1GB data top-up to your plan if you run out of your plans included data.

Are you Prepaid? (Pay for your plan upfront)

If you run out of the included data of your plan, we'll pause your data access and wait for your next steps. If you want to continue using data, you can choose to add a data top-up ($10/1GB) via the amaysim app. Data top-ups you choose to add, will be added to your plan’s pool of data and expire at the same time as your plan.

If you're using an UNLIMITED mobile plan, you can also choose to renew your plan early (this will re-start your data allowance).

Alternatively, you can wait until your plan has renewed for a new 28 day period in order to access data again.

Are you Postpaid? (Receive a bill each month)

To give you continuous data access, we'll automatically add a $10/1GB data top-up to your plan if you run out of your plans included data. Data top-ups will be added to your plan’s pool of data, expire at the same time as your plan, and be charged as part of your next monthly bill.

If you use up any 1GB data top-ups before your plan renews, we'll simply add another one so you can avoid any nasty bill blowouts.

How can I check my data balance?

The easiest way to check your data balance is through the amaysim app or My amaysim.

We'll also send you data usage alerts through a combination of email and text messages to let you know when you've used up 50%, 85% and 100% of your data allowance, however as the messages can be delayed by up to 48 hours, the best option is to check your balance through the app.

haven't found what you're looking for?

Still need help? Contact us